To register for the Kate Atkinson newsletter simply fill in the form below and hit sign-up.

If at any time you wish to unregister, simply follow the unsubscribe instructions that appear on each email newsletter.

Kate Atkinson

News < Back


Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction Shortlist

Friday 4th April 2014

Life After Life has been shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction.

Kate's bestselling novel was selected alongside The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton, Harvest by Jim Crace, Fair Helen by Andrew Greig, An Officer And A Spy by Robert Harris and The Promise by Ann Weisgarber, in what judges described as "the toughest choice, from the strongest longlist, in the prize's five year history".

The Walter Scott Prize, founded in 2009 by the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch, is the largest annual fiction prize to be judged outside London.

The shortlisted books are:

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

Harvest by Jim Crace

Fair Helen by Andrew Greig

An Officer And A Spy by Robert Harris

The Promise by Ann Weisgarber

The winner will be announced on 13 June at the Brewin Dolphin Borders Book Festival.

News source: BBC website
Image copyright of Getty


This site uses cookies to store temporary imformation whilst you are using the site - this makes the site quicker to use.
These cookies contain no personal information and the data that they do contain are not shared with anyone, or used outside of this site.