Kate Atkinson was born in York and now lives in Edinburgh. Her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum, won the Whitbread Book of the Year Award and has been a critically acclaimed international bestselling author ever since.

She is the author of a collection of short stories, Not the End of the World, and of the critically acclaimed novels Human Croquet, Emotionally Weird, Case Histories, and One Good Turn.

Case Histories introduced her readers to Jackson Brodie, former police inspector turned private investigator, and won the Saltire Book of the Year Award and the Prix Westminster.

When Will There Be Good News? was voted Richard & Judy Book Best Read of the Year. After Case Histories and One Good Turn, it was her third novel to feature the former private detective Jackson Brodie, who also made a welcome return in Started Early, Took My Dog.

Kate's latest novel, Life After Life, was published in January 2013 to much acclaim and went on to win both the 2013 Costa Novel Award and the South Bank Sky Arts Award for Literature, and was also shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction.

In December 2013 Kate was named Waterstones Author of the Year at the Specsavers National Book Awards.

Kate was awarded an MBE in the Queen's 2011 Birthday Honours, for services to literature.

Join Kate Atkinson on Facebook

Join other Kate Atkinson fans on GoodReads

It doesn't really matter in which genre Atkinson chooses to write. Her subject is always the irrecoverable loss of love and how best to continue living once you have glumly recognised that "That was what the world was like, things improved but they didn't get better". Her gift is presenting this unnerving and subversive philosophy as a dazzling form of entertainment.

Sunday Times

Kate Atkinson is an absolute must-read. I love everything she writes.

Harlan Coben

Kate Atkinson  Euan Myles


Kate Atkinson

Photo: © Euan Myles