A God in Ruins Shortlisted for Costa Book Award

God in Ruins Costa Shortlist

The shortlisted titles for the 2015 Costa Book Awards were revealed on BBC Radio 4’s Front Row show last night and A God in Ruins is one of them.

Kate’s latest book has been named alongside Patrick Gale’s A Place Called Winter, Melissa Harrison’s At Hawthorn Time and Anne Enright’s The Green Road in the Costa Novel Award category.

The announcement comes 20 years after Kate first won the overall prize (then known as the Whitbread Award) for her debut novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum and marks the third time she has been shortlisted. Life After Life won the Costa Novel prize in 2013.

The category winners will be announced on January 4th and the overall Book of the Year revealed on 26th January.

Read details of each shortlist on the BBC website
View book: A God in Ruins

More Notice Board Articles


Shrines of Gaiety Media Reviews

‘Atkinson has a plotter’s mind: intricate, clever, satisfying…Shrines of Gaiety is engrossing and fun, powered by subtle skills.’ – The Sunday Times


It’s time to meet Nellie Coker…

1926. In a country still recovering from the Great War, London has become the focus for a delirious new nightlife.


The name is Brodie. Jackson Brodie.

The news is out… private investigator Jackson Brodie makes a much-anticipated return next year with a brand new novel.

Explore books by Kate Atkinson