Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction Shortlist


Life After Life has been shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction.

Kate’s bestselling novel was selected alongside The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton, Harvest by Jim Crace, Fair Helen by Andrew Greig, An Officer And A Spy by Robert Harris and The Promise by Ann Weisgarber, in what judges described as “the toughest choice, from the strongest longlist, in the prize’s five year history”.

The Walter Scott Prize, founded in 2009 by the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch, is the largest annual fiction prize to be judged outside London.

The shortlisted books are:

  • Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
  • The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
  • Harvest by Jim Crace
  • Fair Helen by Andrew Greig
  • An Officer And A Spy by Robert Harris
  • The Promise by Ann Weisgarber

The winner will be announced on 13 June at the Brewin Dolphin Borders Book Festival.

News source: BBC website
Image copyright Getty

Read the full article on the BBC website

View book: Life After Life

More Notice Board Articles


Shrines of Gaiety Media Reviews

‘Atkinson has a plotter’s mind: intricate, clever, satisfying…Shrines of Gaiety is engrossing and fun, powered by subtle skills.’ – The Sunday Times


It’s time to meet Nellie Coker…

1926. In a country still recovering from the Great War, London has become the focus for a delirious new nightlife.


The name is Brodie. Jackson Brodie.

The news is out… private investigator Jackson Brodie makes a much-anticipated return next year with a brand new novel.

Explore books by Kate Atkinson